Skip to content

Praying for Traveling Mercies

December 14, 2012

You’ve probably heard this kind of prayer countless times. Perhaps you’ve even prayed it for yourself or others. Have you ever wondered, “Is this a biblical prayer?” I’m not suggesting that any of us thinks it is a prayer that is outside of God’s will, but rather, are there any examples of this kind of prayer in Scripture?

I found one this morning as I was reading in the book of Ezra. Ezra 8:21 says,There, by the Ahava Canal, I proclaimed a fast, so that we might humble ourselves before our God and ask him for a safe journey for us and our children, with all our possessions.”

That was particularly satisfying to read this morning because my oldest daughter will be driving home from college this Sunday and I plan to remind God of this verse. (Okay, so He was really reminding me, but I am sure that God loves to hear me repeat His words back to Him.)

The Bible, I was reminded today, is extremely relevant!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

